
Dear Parent or Guardian: 

North Carolina law requires all children in school to have certain immunizations. For 6
th

 graders going into the 7
th

 

grade some of the vaccines listed below are required by state law. High school students may need these vaccines 

because they haven’t received all of the vaccines within a series and because most colleges in the U.S. require 

them. With parental consent, the Onslow County Health Department (OCHD) is partnering with Onslow County 

Schools to provide these vaccines to all current 6
th

 graders and high school students at their respective schools 

during the 2016-2017 school year.  All vaccines will be put into the North Carolina Immunization Registry. A copy 

can be requested at the OCHD, your child’s school, and at most pediatricians’ offices. 

 

FOR 6
TH

 GRADERS: 

1. Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Acellular Pertussis) Required. 

2. Menactra (meningococcal) Required (child must be 11 years old or older to receive this vaccine) 

3. HPV (Human Papillomavirus) - A three dose cancer preventing vaccine! 

 

FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: 

1. Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Acellular Pertussis) - Within 10 years of entering college.  

2. Menactra (meningococcal)- If 16 and older and your child has: 

- Received one dose before age 16: They need a 2
ND

 (BOOSTER) dose now. 

- Never received a dose: They need one initial/final dose now.   

3. HPV (Human Papillomavirus) - A three dose cancer preventing vaccine! 

 

We will be providing HPV each of the three times we come to the school. We will be following up with only those 

students that begin their three dose series with us the first time we come to the schools at the end of October.  

We can give the second or third dose to any child that has already started the series and is currently due for the 

next dose as long as they have a current shot record with appropriate documentation.  

 

** IMPORTANT** 

If you are interested in having your child vaccinated you must access our online PDF packet by going to 

www.onslowcountync.gov/health. With your mouse hover over the “Medical Services” tab and then click the 

“Immunizations” banner, you will then see the PDF available to be downloaded and printed. Please sign the 

consent form (parts A, B, C, D, E and F) and return to their school by September 29
th

, 2016 along with a copy of 

your child’s shot record. If you do not have access to the internet or a printer you may pick up a packet from your 

child’s school. By signing the consent and checking the HPV option you are consenting for your child to receive a 

maximum of 3 HPV vaccines in order to properly complete the vaccine series. Please check the box (es) on the 

consent form next to the vaccination(s) you would like your child to receive. 

 

If your child is 18 or younger and uninsured then any and all vaccines can be provided free of charge under state 

regulations. If your child is 19 or older the only way they will be able to receive any vaccines is if they are covered 

by either Medicaid or private insurance. Please contact your insurance carrier to verify if immunizations are 

covered part of your insurance plan’s benefits package.  Then answer the question on form:  Immunizations 

Covered?  Yes or No. 

 

You may contact your school nurse or an immunization nurse at the Onslow County Health Department at           

910-989-3992 for any questions or concerns. We look forward to this opportunity to help keep your child safe and 

up-to-date on his/her immunizations.  

http://www.onslowcountync.gov/health

