None of our employees are notaries. If you need something notarized, notaries can be found at most law offices, real estate offices, banks, public libraries, and City Hall.
The Secretary of State's website includes answers to many questions you may have.
Our office administers notary public oaths for Onslow County notaries between 8am-5pm Monday-Friday. The fee for administering the oath is $10.00. When you receive your certification from the Secretary of State's office, you must come into the Register of Deeds office within 45 days to take your oath.
Requirements to become a notary:
- Be at least 18 years of age or legally emancipated as defined in Article 35 of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes.
- Reside or have a regular place of work or business in this state.
- Reside legally in the United States.
- Speak, read, and write the English language.
- Possess a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Pass the course of instruction, unless the person is a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar.
- Purchase and keep as a reference the most recent manual approved by the Secretary that describes the duties and authority of notaries public.
- Submit an application containing no significant misstatement or omission of fact. The application shall include the signature of the applicant written with pen and ink, and the signature shall be acknowledged by the applicant before a person authorized to administer oaths.
- Obtain the recommendation of one publicly elected official in North Carolina.