Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA)

CAMA is an acronym for the Coastal Area Management Act which is legislation passed by the North Carolina General Assembly in 1974.  This legislation established the CRC (Coastal Resources Commission) which is the governing body for CAMA.  The purpose of CAMA is to protect the unique natural resources of the North Carolina coastal areas.  There are 20 CAMA Counties in North Carolina which are subject to the CAMA rules.  

Areas of Environmental Concern (AECs) are the foundation of the CAMA regulations.  An AEC is an area of natural importance; it may be easily destroyed by erosion or flooding or it may have environmental, social, economic or aesthetic value.

Generally, property is within an AEC if it is: 

  • In or on navigable waters;
  • On marsh or coastal wetlands;
  • Within 75 feet of the mean high water line along an estuarine shoreline;
  • Near the ocean beach;
  • Near an inlet;
  • Within 30 feet of the north high water level of areas designated as inland fishing waters by the North Carolina Marine Fisheries Commission; or
  • Within 575 feet of the mean high water line along an ORW (Outstanding Resource Waters) shoreline.   

CAMA permits must be obtained prior to the application for flood development and building permits for the construction authorized by the CAMA permit.

Hammocks Beach State Park

  1. Land Use

    Physical Address
    234 NW Corridor Boulevard
    Jacksonville, NC 28540

    Phone: 910-455-3661 ext. 3
    Fax: 910-989-3196